
Labor Contract between the State 
of Nebraska and NAPE/AFSCME 

2019-2021

Major Changes to the 
NAPE Labor Contract



Brought to you by:

Employee Relations Division, 
a division of the Department of Administrative Services



• September 1 - Union provides its proposal to the State
• On or before 2nd Wed. in September Negotiations    

commence
September

• October 1 - State provides its counter proposal to 
Union
October 15 - Union and State notify each other of 
Appendix modifications
October 30 - Union to submit Appendix proposals 
to State

October

• November 10 - State to submit its Appendix 
proposals to Union

November



• December 1 - Unresolved issues submitted for 
mediation if no agreement is reached

December

• January 1 - Unresolved issues submitted to Mediator
• January 10 - Parties exchange Final Offers on 

unresolved issues
• January 15 - Parties submit unresolved issues to CIR

January

• March 1 - CIR must issue an Order on each unresolved issue
• March 16 - Chief Negotiator reports to Governor and Legislature 

on Status of Negotiations
• March 31 - Appeal to Nebraska Supreme Court must be filed by 

this date (30 days after CIR Order)
March



8,001 employees are covered by the NAPE/AFSCME
Labor Contract which consists of 8 Bargaining Units.



1.1 NAPE covers 8 of the 12 Statutorily defined Bargaining Units

Administrative Professional (A)
Social Services and Counseling (C)
Engineering, Science and Resources (E)
Health and Human Care Professional (H)
Health and Human Care/Non-Professional (I)
Maintenance, Trades and Technical (M)
Administrative Support (S)
Examining, Inspection and Licensing (X)

Protective Service (P) moved to FOP Contract



3.15 Changed Department of Roads to 

Department of Transportation

7.7 Similar change

9.1 Similar change 

14.1 Similar change

18.5 Similar change

Similar change in Appendix D



Section 7.7.1

The following categories were transferred 
to similar section in the FOP Contract:

oDevelopmental Disabilities Safety and 
Habilitation Specialist

oMental Health Security Specialist I, II, III

oYouth Security Specialist I, II 



11.2 July 1, 2019 all employees, except those specified in
Section 11.2.1, receive a 2% increase

and

0.3% additional increase for satisfactory performance for past
calendar year to be calculated simultaneously.

2.3%0.3%2%



11.2.1 NEW. On July 1, 2019, the minimum rate and maximum rate of pay for the following
classes shall be adjusted to the amounts shown below. Incumbents of these classifications shall
receive a minimum 5% increase or to the new hiring rate, whichever is higher. Increases to
those employees at the top of the new pay line will not exceed 5% over the new maximum
rate. Such adjustments shall be in lieu of any other increase, including the one provided in
Section 11.2.

Minimum Rate Maximum Rate

Highway Maintenance Worker $16.300 $22.600

Highway Maintenance Worker, Sr. $17.000 $23.700

Highway Maintenance Crew Chief $19.250 $25.450

Highway Construction Technician I $16.300 $22.200

Highway Construction Technician II $17.750 $24.500

Highway Construction Technician III $21.600 $30.100

Highway Construction Technician IV $25.950 $36.650



11.3 July 1, 2020 all employees, except those specified in
Section 11.3.1, receive a 2% increase

and

0.3% additional increase for satisfactory performance for past
calendar year to be calculated simultaneously.

2%

0.3%

2.3%



11.3.1 NEW: On July 1, 2020, the minimum rate and maximum rate of pay for the following
classes shall be adjusted to the amounts shown below. Incumbents of these classifications shall
receive a minimum 2% increase or to the new hiring rate, whichever is higher. Increases to those
employees at the top of the new pay line will not exceed 5% over the new maximum rate. Such
adjustments shall be in lieu of any other increase, including the one provided in Section 11.3.

Minimum Rate Maximum Rate

Highway Maintenance Worker $16.300 $22.600

Highway Maintenance Worker, Sr. $17.550 $24.450

Highway Maintenance Crew Chief $20.250 $28.000

Highway Construction Technician I $16.300 $22.200

Highway Construction Technician II   $18.750 $25.900

Highway Construction Technician III  $22.750 $31.700

Highway Construction Technician IV  $26.500 $37.450



11.5 and 11.6 ~~ Paylines remain the same, both years, as in
prior contract unless otherwise noted.



11.8 Modified the sixth paragraph as follows: In the following three
situations an exception to the above language will be made, that an
employee shall receive a 5% pay increase to their base rate of pay: if the
employee is promoted from Highway Maintenance Worker/Senior to
Highway Maintenance Crew Chief; or promoted from Engineer I to
Engineer II; or promoted from Environmental Engineer I to Environmental
Engineer II. In no case shall the employee be paid more than the
maximum rate of pay of the new classification.

11.12 Nurse Compensation – Pay rates will be adjusted based on the
Letter Agreement referencing nurse salaries.



11.13 Longevity Pay.  Was removed.

11.13.1   Longevity Pay – Appeal Process.  

Was removed.



12.8.b.  Removed reference to the Protective Service Bargaining Unit:

The employee may not carry more than 240 hours of
compensatory time (160 hours x 1.5) -- amounts over this
limit must be taken in pay.



13. Annual deductibles remain the same as

current contract.

• $1400 annual deductible per person for the first and second year of 
this contract (In Network)

• $2600 annual deductible per family, for the first and second year of 
this contract (In Network)  



• Remains the same as current contract.

• $4000 annual medical out-of-pocket maximum 
per person (In Network)

• $8000 annual medical out-of-pocket maximum 
per family (In Network)

• 80% coinsurance remains for most covered services 
after deductible (In Network)



Co-payment for Dr. office visits only, not to exceed   
$45 - remains the same
Co-payment for Specialty Dr. office visit, not to 
exceed $55 - remains the same

Co-Payment for Urgent Care Center visit, not to 
exceed $75 – remains the same



Rx Drug Card coverage:

$5 Co-payment per 30 day supply of Tier 1 drugs - remains 
the same

$40 Co-payment per 30 day supply of Tier 2 drugs) for the 
first and second year of this labor contract.

$60 Co-payment per 30 day supply of Tier 3 drugs for the 
first and second year of this labor contract.



Annual pharmacy out of pocket maximum is $2250 per 
individual, for the first and second year of this labor 
contract.

Annual pharmacy out of pocket maximum is $4500 per 
family, for the first and second year of this labor contract.

Mail order is available for long-term maintenance drugs 
for a 90 day supply with a cost of 2x the 30 day supply for 
each level of drugs - remains the same



14.18  Injury Leave.  Added pursuant to Neb. 
Rev. Stat. Sec. 48-119 to the first paragraph, 
third line, to be in compliance with state 
statute.



14.27 NEW. Maternity Leave Donation (MLD) Program. When an expectant
mother needs to be away from work due to a birth of a child she may request
MLD. MLD shall be available only to employees who have exhausted their own
earned sick leave, in conjunction with an approved Family Medical Leave (FML)
under the Family Medical Leave Act and only with approval of the agency head
and/or designee.

14.27.1 NEW. Eligibility of Recipient. Employees shall meet the following criteria
before request(s) for donations can be made:

a. Be the expectant mother of a newborn baby
b. FML request has been approved by the agency
c. Have exhausted all earned sick leave
d. Have not offered anything of value in exchange for the donation



14.27.2 NEW. Requesting Maternity Leave Donations. Employees must
submit a written request for MLD to the agency/facility Human
Resources office. The request must include substantiating evidence as
described in the Family Medical Leave Act. (For your convenience,
request forms are available from your agency/facility Human
Resources office or the DAS State Personnel website.) The Human
Resources staff will be responsible to initiate the process to verify
eligibility, seek agency head approval, request donations, apply the
conversion formula to donations received, advise the employee of
donations received and notify the appropriate payroll personnel of
changes to receiving/donating employees’ leave balances. Agency
heads and/or their designee(s) must approve both the FML and MLD
requests before solicitation for donations begin.



14.27.3 NEW. Contributing Maternity Leave Donations. Employees may contribute accrued vacation
leave or earned compensatory time to benefit another State employee in the same agency who requests
MLD. Vacation leave and earned compensatory time shall be donated in no less than 4 hour increments.
The contributing employee must identify the specific amount of time donated and the name of the
recipient of the donated time on the appropriate forms for that purpose. Vacation leave and
compensatory time donated and transferred to another State employee pursuant to this provision shall
be irrevocably credited to the recipient’s MLD account.

Vacation leave and compensatory time transferred shall be converted to a dollar value and then
converted to hours based on the recipient’s hourly rate (e.g., the leave donor’s salary is $12.00 per hour
and the recipient’s salary is $24.00 per hour, thus, in this case, twice the amount of hours is needed to
achieve full conversion.) No more than an equivalent of 480 hours of MLD may be received by an
employee during a twelve-month period. No more hours than required during the approved FML period
should be received. (e.g., the employee has 2 weeks of paid sick leave accrued. After the 2 weeks of
accrued sick leave is used, the employee can only request 4 weeks of donated leave to fill a 6 week FML
request.) The agency shall transfer donated leave to the recipient’s account from the donor’s accruals in
chronological order based on the date the form was received and on an as needed basis.



14.27.4 NEW. Eligibility of the Donor. Before donating vacation leave
or earned compensatory time employees shall meet the following
criteria:
a. Only increments of four (4) hours may be donated.
b. Have not solicited nor accepted anything of value in exchange

for the donation.
c. Have remaining to his/her credit at least 40 hours of accrued

vacation leave. Earned compensatory time can be donated
completely- leaving a zero balance.



14.27.5 NEW. Adoptive Mothers. Per
Neb. Rev. Stat. § 48-234 adoptive
mothers may be entitled to use the
MLD program in certain situations.
Adoptive mothers must meet the
eligibility requirements as outlined
above.

14.27.6 NEW. The provisions of this
section are non-grievable.



15.2 We added bullying.

“Employees have the right to a 
workplace free from sexual 
harassment, inappropriate 
physical conduct, bullying and 
threatening behavior.”



17.1 We removed the reference to Department of
Correctional Services employees covered by this
Contract.



18.2 Added “diligently and timely” to the second to
last sentence:

… In the event the building or worksite is leased from a county or
other third party, it shall be the Employer's responsibility to diligently
and timely pursue improvements that will make the worksite safe
and healthy.



18.5

Added “Nebraska State Electrical Division employees

covered by this Contract see Appendix V for Uniforms provisions”.

“Department of Veterans’ Affairs employees covered by this Contract
see Appendix W for Uniforms provisions”. This is a new Appendix.



22.7 Personnel records relating to workplace harassment shall be 
removed from the file after seven years (was four years) at the 
employee’s request.



24.1  Labor Contract effective date changes to July 1, 
2019 through June 30, 2021.



Pay Plan for all NAPE/AFSCME Bargaining Unit 
classifications.



The “E” Unit exceptions remain in Sections:

12.9   – How Overtime is calculated

14.1   – Holidays (no Columbus Day holiday)
14.5   – Vacation Leave accrual 
14.10 – Sick Leave accruals
14.18 – Injury Leave



Contract 
interpretations can 

be found on our 
website!

Questions?

http://das.nebraska.gov/emprel/Interps_Revised.html


