

Good Life. Great Service.

DEPT. OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

Risk Management

Reporting of Insurance Claims for State of Nebraska Agencies

The State of Nebraska is self-insured for a portion of any loss and the Risk Management Division ("Risk") of the Department of Administrative Services purchases excess property, automobile, and crime insurance on behalf of the State of Nebraska. The Nebraska Risk Management Association (NRMA) has been hired by Risk to adjudicate such claims.

Reporting

All damages to or loss of property which exceed an agencies deductible for (Buildings, Auto, Contents, Inland Marine, etc.) should be reported to NRMA via the online reporting website within 24 hours. A link to the online reporting portal is available on the Insurance page under "File a Claim". When reporting online, please upload all supporting documents at that time. In the event of a <u>Critical</u> <u>Incident</u>, claims may be reported via a telephone call Monday – Friday from 8:00 am – 5:00 pm to NRMA at 402-742-9220. Once the claim has been reported an adjuster with NRMA will be in contact with you to discuss next steps.

NRMA will set up a time to inspect the damage and will gather statements from all parties involved. It is very important that you do NOT attempt to repair and/or contract for repairs prior to being in contact with NRMA for assistance and guidance. Agency representatives should under no circumstances, however, agency representatives can speak freely with NRMA adjusters regarding any incident.

Deductibles

All agencies will be charged a deductible for property losses. The deductibles are as follows:

Auto Physical Damage and Liability	\$1000	Contents	\$5,000
Contents Inland Marine	\$500	Building	\$5,000

Agencies will be billed via IBT for the deductibles.

<u>Forms</u>

If an agency expects the damage to exceed their deductible an <u>Incident Report Form</u> should be completed and uploaded to the online reporting website when the agency reports the claim. Details on the Incident report form will help you to report the claim. In the event of a motor vehicle accident, a <u>Driver's Motor Vehicle Accident Report</u> should be completed pursuant to <u>Nebraska Revised Statute</u> <u>§60-699</u>.

Questions or Concerns:

Should you have any questions or concerns regarding the reporting or handling of claims, please contact the Office of Risk Management at 402-471-2551 or by email at **as.riskinsurance@nebraska.gov.**