Error processing SSI file

Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA)

The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) requires that most employees in the United States be paid at least the federal minimum wage for all hours worked and overtime pay at time and one-half the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 40 hours in a work week. However, the FSLA provides exemptions from both the minimum wage and overtime pay under certain criteria. The most common exemptions include Executive, Administrative, Professional and Computer employees. Please note that it is the responsibility of each State agency to ensure that each of its jobs are properly identified as exempt or non-exempt based on these regulations.

Links to the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) fact sheets for these exemption types and associated regulations and tests are available below, as well as links to specific U.S. Department of Labor web sites. Please refer to these web sites for the most current federal labor laws.

DOL Fact Sheets:

Department of Labor FLSA sites


Icons from