
This form is internally created for State of Nebraska Human Resources Shared Services (“HRSS”) and is intended for 
HRSS Customer Agencies only. No State of Nebraska Agency is required to use this form unless otherwise 

instructed. 
 

Teammate Injury Reporting Checklist & Guide 
All injuries, no matter how minor, must be reported to human resources. Please use this guide to navigate 

appropriate next steps.  
 

Injury reporting: For all injury reports, the following documents are required (per Neb. Rev. 

Stat. Sec. 48-133, the forms must be submitted to HR within 24 hours of the incident). All injury 

documents can be found on the Department of Administrative Services – State Risk Website 

(https://sharepoint.nebraska.gov/as/risk/workcomp/_layouts/15/start.aspx#/SitePages/Home.as

px) 

1. Employee Incident Form – This document is necessary to record in detail what happened 

during the incident and what was injured.  

2. Supervisor Investigation Report – Give this form to your supervisor to complete after you 

report the incident to them.  

3. Witness Report Form – Your supervisor should have any State teammates who witnessed the 

incident complete this form.  

 

 

Medical visits: If you have seen or plan to see a doctor for your injury, the following paperwork 

is required for Gallagher Bassett (GB), our worker’s compensation partner, to investigate the 

compensability of your claim. Failure to complete all required documents may result in the 

denial of your claim.  

1. Form 50 – Choice of Doctor – Complete the 1st and 2nd section of this form. This form 

indicates your understanding that you can choose your doctor and identify the doctor. 

Section 3 is left blank. 

2. HIPAA Compliant – This form is required for GB to fully investigate your claim. Failure to 

complete the document may result in your claim being denied.  

3. 7-Day Wait Period Acknowledgement – The 7-day wait period is a state and federal law that 

states there will be no Work Comp benefits paid out for the first 7 days after the injury. This 

document indicates your understanding of this rule.   

4. Request for Workability – This form is completed by your doctor to communicate to HR and 

to GB your workability after the injury. You will take this form with you each time you visit 

the doctor for your injury.  

If you are not seeking medical attention for your injury, continue to the “submitting paperwork” step below. If 

you are not seeking medical attention, your injury and incident paperwork will be filed as an “incident only.” An 

Incident Only claim does not initiate an investigation, it is simply a record of the incident. If you decide later to 

seek medical attention, the claim will be opened for investigation. If you are seeking medical attention or decide 

to seek medical attention at a later date, continue to the next step, “medical visits”.  
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Optional Medical Forms:  

5. Mileage Reimbursement – You may be entitled to mileage expenses for medical 

appointments. This form can be completed and submitted to GB for reimbursement 

determination.  

6. First Script – This is a one-time use form to acquire prescribed medication on your first 

doctor visit due to a work-related injury. Take this form with you to the pharmacy to receive 

initial prescriptions. If your injury claim is approved, you will receive a card in the mail from 

GB for future prescriptions.  

Lost Time: See steps below if you have missed any time from work due to your injury.  

1. Complete the Lost Hours Spreadsheet with a list of any hours that you missed due to the 

injury.  

2. Include a doctor’s note to verify lost time requested. Failure to include documentation to 

confirm the lost time is related to the injury may result in denial of pay.  

3. When submitting a timecard, you will only submit hours physically worked. Hours “lost” due 

to the injury are reported separately, explained in step 1 and 2 above.  

Submitting Paperwork  

1. Teammate submits a Case through the Workday Help Center.  

a. Navigate to the EWC (found here or at link.nebraska.gov). 

b. Click on ‘Menu' in the upper-left corner. 

c. Click on 'Help.' 

d. Click on ‘Create Case’ at the bottom of the page. 

e. Select Case Type: ‘Workplace Injury/Workers’ Compensation’ from the drop-down 

menu.  

 

 

Injury Reporting Process 

 

 

 

 

 

 


